On the need to fit in

 This post, which is titled in order to fit with the theme of the site, is about fitness. Particularly, my fitness.

Starting near the end of November, I began visiting the University’s on-campus gym. In short, I started working out. Mondays for the biceps, back, quadriceps and calves, and Thursdays for the triceps, shoulders, pectorals, and hamstrings. Abdominals will be worked out separately, not at the gym.

In connection with this, I have been going for walks on Tuesday and Friday nights, as well as on Saturdays. These walks are typically about 7 to 7.5 kilometres long, and normally take a little over an hour.

Anyway, I started going, and that lasted until the week before christmas. Then, I skipped three weeks due to Christmas and New Years (as I didn’t go to the University for those three weeks – I took them off), picking back up just this Monday gone. I am starting to notice improvements already, in spite of the 3 week delay (which produced noticeable reductions in progress), and I’m feeling good to continue this system into the future.

That being said,  I’ve been naughty for the last two days, skipping my Friday and Saturday walks. I plan on using Sunday to make up for them, though, at least partly. I don’t expect to make it to my normal target of 70,000 steps for a week, but I’ll take it as far as I can. I’m currently just over 50,000 steps, with one day to go.

This post will be followed by a post containing my current stats, for the sake of tracking improvements.  I recently bought a cheap set of body fat percentage scales – uses bioimpedance to measure my fat levels, in conjunction with weighing me. Right now, I tend to hover somewhere between 76 and 79 kilograms, depending on how much I’ve eaten recently (as in, what’s in my stomach/intestines).

I will also be starting a regular stretching program, once again. Hopefully, with the help of this blog to keep me honest, I will actually keep up with my stretching, as well as other fitness efforts. I may also post a picture of my body (with my face hidden, for privacy’s sake), to visually chronicle my improvements.

In the meantime, I suggest that people check out a guy called Jiri Borkovec, who has taken fitness and bodybuilding to the extreme. I don’t actually expect to ever reach his level, but my way of looking at it is, “if you want to reach the moon, shoot for the stars”. For those who don’t understand that, it means that you should aim beyond your target, because that makes it easier to reach it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Body

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment